I'm alive...
I'm still injured. I managed to heal just enough to complete my triathlon last month. Here's how it went:
#384/418 - Hey, at least I wasn't dead last!
Swim (500yards) - 16:24.2 - OMG I ALMOST DIED. Ok, that would be dramatic. But thank goodness this was in a pool because I'm not sure I would have made it 500 yards straight without stopping. And I was so nervous that my heart rate was at about 100 before I even started. No, I am not dying. My normal heart rate is like 72. I guess nerves + ADD meds + 2 cups of coffee = ridiculously high resting heart rate. Also, I was so nervous, I jumped into the water without putting my goggles on over my actual eyeballs, so I had to tread water for a moment while trying to pull my goggles down. Duh.
Transition 1 - 5:10.6 - So, you had to climb out of the pool, run out the door, run on some grass which was wet from the drizzle of rain plus wet feet (I almost bit it right then and there. Who's dumb idea was it to have dripping wet people run over wet grass?) and to the bike rack. I took my time. It was my first race so I wasn't going to worry about transition time.
Bike (10miles) - 44:45.0 - I only averaged like 13mph. I could have gone faster, but I was afraid of crushing my legs for the run and also, it had been raining and I was afraid of slipping on the wet ground. I hadn't trained a lot because of the broken heel and I didn't want to push my luck. It was a nice slightly more than leisurely ride.
Transition 2 - 2:39.0 - Bike to Run transition is sooooo much easier than swim to bike. Just saying...
Run (5k, i think...maybe 3 miles) - 32.51.8 - I'm not going to lie, this time surprised the heck out of me. I thought for sure that I would have to walk the entire thing. But I actually was able to jog most of it. My legs felt great because I did not get crazy on the bike and my heel felt ok and I really just felt good for as little as I had been able to train.
So there you have it, a month later, my first triathlon.
The Injury that never ends...
I got cocky and tried running 4 miles a couple of days after the race. The result was me back in the boot. Stupid heel that won't heal. I've had to spend the last few weeks not doing anything at all. The doctor says that I have to let it heal. Whatever. Ugh. So, i've been a total loungypants. But, Tough Mudder is only 5 weeks away, so we start with the trainer tomorrow. At minimum, I need to have the upper body strength to pull myself over a wall and across buttered monkey bars. I'll start swimming again, too, so that I have some cardio to fall back on. Tough Mudder is 12 miles. I need to do something to have the stamina for that. After that, if i need to sit around for 2 months to heal properly, i'll be able to do it. I want that tattoo!
I'm sure the trainer will give me something to report. That cross fit stuff makes me whiny!
Jenn - Stay tuned.
A coach potato's journey to (semi) greatness...
My questionable journey to (semi) greatness...Follow me as I train. I'll laugh, I'll cry, I'll wish I was eating Cheetos....
Goals:
Short Term Goal: Make it through the first week of P90X (Check)
Short Term Goal 2: Make it through the second week of P90X(Check)
Short Term Goal 3: Make it through the third week of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal: Make it through the first month of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal 2: Make it through the second month of P90X
Long Term Goal: Complete 90 days of P90X!!!
Extended Goal: Not sure yet...
Short Term Goal 2: Make it through the second week of P90X(Check)
Short Term Goal 3: Make it through the third week of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal: Make it through the first month of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal 2: Make it through the second month of P90X
Long Term Goal: Complete 90 days of P90X!!!
Extended Goal: Not sure yet...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment