Workout(s): Day 19 - Chalean Burn 3, Day 20 - Off, Day 21 - Bike 8 miles, Swim 300 yards, Day 22 - Off, Day 23 - Chalean 1, Run 30 Min, Softball
The Workouts...
So things got a little upside down last week. We were totally on track and then Thursday (Day 19) started our downward spiral into a Skip/Catch-up pattern. We did the Chalean Burn 3 in the morning and all was well. I had a hard time waking up, but once I got moving, I persevered. Burn 3 is lower body hell. All the crazy lunge/squat/calf raise stuff I've described in previous blogs. It totally killed my legs. We had the minions that night and since they would be gone on vacation with their mom for the next two weeks and Boyfriend would not see them, we decided to push the bike out a day...Enter Friday (Day 20), a day in which we decided to do NOTHING. We felt horrible about it, but we got over that and rented Sucker Punch and enjoyed a night of not abusing ourselves. It is weird to take a whole day off of working out. We've started getting used to one and two workouts a day, that the off days make us feel confused. Saturday (Day 21), we had planned on painting the master bedroom this weekend, so we got up early to get in the bike and swim workouts we were supposed to do Thursday and Friday. 6.5 miles into the 8 mile bike ride, my tire blew. It was totally dead to me. Neither of us had thought to bring any spare tubes, so I started slowly walking back (those stupid clipped bike shoes are not so great for the walking), while Boyfriend road like the wind home to get the car to pick me up. He was secretly excited because this was his first opportunity to see how my bike would fit inside his new Xterra. With the front wheel take off, the bike fits very nicely upright and in the trunk. With the back seats down and the bike bar attached, we will easily be able to fit both our bikes upright in the back of that car. It's pretty awesome. It did derail my bike ride though, so that was less then awesome. After that, we headed over to the gym to bust out our 300 yard swim, so we could head over to Walmart and get our paint. But that's a story for another blog...We spent the rest of the day walking around. Does that count as exercise? Sunday (Day 22) was spent prepping, painting, and decorating the master bedroom, so there just wasn't the time to get in the workouts, which pushed out a day again. Monday (Day 23) was rough, but I was determined to not totally skip the workouts. I ran at the gym during lunch. It. Was. Awesome. 9 minute warm-up then 3min run/1 min walk intervals for the remainder of the 40 minutes. I'm starting to get used to running on my toes and I tried listening to music with a quicker tempo so that I would take shorter strides and increase the speed of my leg turnover. I thought that would make me more tired, but it actually made it easier to run at a faster speed without increasing the effort. I was able to run the 3 minute intervals at 6.5mph or higher, up until the last interval when I lost all energy and the will to live, so that one I have to do at 6mph. These are like lightening fast speeds for me. Each 1 minute walk interval I did at 2-4% incline. I had softball after work. It was like the freaking desert outside. I'm still not hitting well, which is starting to aggrevate me. I just can't seem to hit a ball that gets pitched to me at like 1mph. And we lost. But, I still managed to get home and get through Chalean Burn 1 (this week is the last week of the Burn Phase).
The Food...
It was the weekend, so we ate more take-out then we should. We still tried not to be total gluttonous pigs, though. Monday, after softball, I totally gave in and had three awesome $1 chicken tacos with some teammates, but I felt pretty ok about it because I skipped the sour cream (not on purpose, they forgot to give me the sour cream I asked for and I didn't bother to ask again because I was too busy cramming tacos in my mouth). It's hard this week to eat the way I normally do because Boyfriend is in NYC for work and I just don't have the discipline to structure my eating if it's just for me. The fact that I'm actually doing the workouts without him here to, er, remind me how much I love it, is good enough. It's been like a week since I've had any M&Ms and I'm getting the shakes...
The Feelings...
Last week I was feeling pretty good. By Monday, I was feeling pretty tired and sore again. I don't stretch enough. My ankles feel sore from running on my toes, but I'm hoping that's just them getting stronger. Running was great on Monday, until I started getting a side cramp about 32 minutes into it. I struggled from there. I also fear all this running on my toes is going to make my giant 14 inch calves even bigger. Boyfriend loves to point out how big my calves are (in proportion to the rest of me). This will only give him more ammunition. Fortunately, I'm not ahead of him in the workouts and after day 24, I will be all caught up and back on the normal schedule. Assuming we can keep it with Lollapalooza this weekend...
Jenn - Homemade Hummus for dinner is DELIGHTFUL!!!
A coach potato's journey to (semi) greatness...
My questionable journey to (semi) greatness...Follow me as I train. I'll laugh, I'll cry, I'll wish I was eating Cheetos....
Goals:
Short Term Goal: Make it through the first week of P90X (Check)
Short Term Goal 2: Make it through the second week of P90X(Check)
Short Term Goal 3: Make it through the third week of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal: Make it through the first month of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal 2: Make it through the second month of P90X
Long Term Goal: Complete 90 days of P90X!!!
Extended Goal: Not sure yet...
Short Term Goal 2: Make it through the second week of P90X(Check)
Short Term Goal 3: Make it through the third week of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal: Make it through the first month of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal 2: Make it through the second month of P90X
Long Term Goal: Complete 90 days of P90X!!!
Extended Goal: Not sure yet...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment