A coach potato's journey to (semi) greatness...

My questionable journey to (semi) greatness...Follow me as I train. I'll laugh, I'll cry, I'll wish I was eating Cheetos....

Goals:

Short Term Goal: Make it through the first week of P90X (Check)
Short Term Goal 2: Make it through the second week of P90X(Check)
Short Term Goal 3: Make it through the third week of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal: Make it through the first month of P90X(Check)
Medium Term Goal 2: Make it through the second month of P90X
Long Term Goal: Complete 90 days of P90X!!!
Extended Goal: Not sure yet...

Monday, July 18, 2011

Day 6-8: One lazy day, One Off Day, One day of kicking my own buttocks...

Workouts: (Day 6) Chalean Burn Intervals, Swim 200 Yards - (Day 7) OFF - Week 2: (Day 8) Chalean Burn 1, Run 20 minutes

The Workouts...
I'm not going to lie to you.  I feel that to make this training blog worth anything to me, I have to be honest and hold myself accountable.  I totally skipped the Day 6 workout.  I told myself I would do it on Day 7 since that was an off day and just take Day 6 as my off day, but alas, it was not so.  After Harry Potter on thursday night (See Also: And so it ends...), I was too freaking tired to wake up in the morning to do the Chalean workout.  I didn't even get to work until 11am. See Also: I'm getting old.  Then, still tired after work, I just wanted to lay down for 30 minutes before getting ready to go downtown to a beer garden and be social. Still thinking I would do the workout Saturday morning, I didn't wake up in time to get it done before my haircut appointment.  I got my hair colored (it's finally long enough that I don't feel like its a waste of money to have the stylist do it vs out of a box at home), and was told that I shouldn't really get my hair wet for 24 hours.  I'd gotten two magenta streaks that I really didn't want to fade the first day. So that killed the swimming from happening after haircut and I didn't want to get all sweaty and not be able to shower before we went over to a friend's house Saturday night for BBQ and bonfire.  So, excuses, excuses, I did not do the Day 6 workout.

Day 7 was an OFF day from both Chalean and triathlon training.  I wanted to have at least one day a week off so that I didn't commit a homicide.

Day 8 I did the Chalean Burn 1 workout at around 2pm.  I wasn't feeling well, and my head hurt, but I was feeling ok enough by this point to give it a go.  I was able to use heavier weights than in the same workout last week.  My heartrate did not get up as high as I'd like, and I don't know if that's because I really need to go heavier or if I'm just improving faster than I thought.  I was using 10-12 lb weights (vs. 8-10 lbs last week) for all of the exercises.  And I did 8/12 pushups before going to my knees.  Sweet.

After a couple of episodes of Bones, we went running at about 9pm.  It was so hot out yesterday that we thought we should wait until it cooled off.  Keep in mind, it stays light out in Indianapolis until about 9:30pm or so right now, so we weren't running in the dark.  It was still stiffling out, but we got through our run.

The Food...
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA...Ok, so Day 6 (Friday) and Day 7 (Saturday) were eating hell.  I didn't pack my lunch, so I had lunch at Noodle Company and that was about it for most of the day.  Then, we had beer and unhealthy food at the beer garden downtown.  I'd been eating every 2 hours or so all week and taking vitamins, so I felt pretty crappy on Friday when I fell off that wagon.  Saturday wasn't much better.  I didn't eat anything until about 2:30pm, at which point I grabbed some cheese.  I tried to control myself at dinner by having a turkey bratwurst w/ avocado but ended up eating a bunch of chedder and summer sausage, way too much wine, a beer and a delicious mudslide. My stomach suffered the consequences of my wicked wicked ways.  By Sunday (Day 8) I got back on the wagon, and got myself under control.  I am ashamed.  Had a great time, but ashamed.  I'll have to work a bit harder on that next weekend.


Feelings...
Well, I've established that I was just downright tired on Friday.  And Saturday got away from me too.  Sunday, even though I have to admit, I may have been a little hungover, I finally sucked it up at 2pm and managed to get through the Chalean workout.  Actually, the workout helped clear my head.  I mean, I hear/read people saying "clears the head" and I wonder what that could mean.  I learned on Sunday.  Prior to the workout, I felt all cloudy in the brains, like I wouldn't be able to react quickly in a bar fight.  By the end of the workout, it was like oxygen had finally made it's trip upwards into my brain, and I could think with clarity again.  And my muscles didn't even feel all that bad about doing the workout.  So that worked out nicely.  The run at 9pm wasn't that bad either.  It was only 20 minutes, 2 minute run/1 minute walk increments.  Even though it was gross thick hot out, we ran hard during the 2 minute run cycles and felt good about it at the end.

All in all, I got lazy this weekend and I can't let that happen.  It was also a more social weekend than I normally have and in my own defense, I was also pre-menstral, which always makes me extra extra tired.  But still, not good enough excuses for skipping a workout.  Especially a swimming one, since that is my weakest area and I would prefer not to drown.

Day 9 Workout: Chalean Off, Softball, Bike 8 miles

Jenn - Can't get lazy!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment